Let The Journey Begin

91cfb967-9217-46e2-9db3-46e75c272345

A few weeks ago I did a review of the Oscar-nominated film Room on Twitter, and in a way, it sparked a flame in me that hasn’t been there for a while.

I have always been a lover of film and the entertainment world. So much so, that I have so much random information stored in my brain it can get annoying sometimes (you can ask my family and friends).  I am pretty sure they hate seeing any movie with me because in my own way I am going to critique it, tell them what I thought, and even make a TON of comments while watching. I remember a few years back, my friends and I went to see 42 in theaters. There was this super cool shot of ‘Jackie Robinson’ sliding into the base and the dirt flying into the camera. I hit my friend Brianna a couple times saying “Oh my. Did you see that?” Like she wasn’t sitting beside me watching it (ha. Sorry Bri.)

Ever since High School in Mr. Bell’s mass communications class, I knew I had to be a part of that world. I had to be the one entertaining and informing people through film. I caught the bug when I was put in charge of producing our Class of 2011 Senior video. I would sit in the editing bay for hours on end tweaking and perfecting it because I wanted it to be something my class cherished even after graduation.  That’s when I knew this is what I want to do with my life.

Now, fast forward 4 and a half years, and here we are. I graduated from the University of Tennessee in 4 years with two degrees: Journalism and electronic media and Cinema Studies. I was a proud member of the Pride of the Southland Marching Band all 4 years and a Squad Leader my senior year. I will say that my greatest accomplishment of college was being a part of this amazing organization. Since graduating, I moved back to Columbia, started working with the Spring Hill High School Marching Band, and have been applying like crazy for media jobs in Nashville, Atlanta, and LA. I haven’t had much luck in the job department except for being so lucky to work with some AMAZING kids and staff at Spring Hill.

So here it is. I have decided to start this blog to share my journey through the media world. The ups and downs of trying to get into this highly competitive field. I’ll do movie reviews, talk about the application process, and possibly share some of my work on here too.

I hope you take this journey with me because believe me in this industry you need people by your side rooting for you and pushing you forward to become the best you can be.

I’ll leave you with this.

“A film, a piece of theater, a piece of music, or a book can make a difference. It can change the world.” -Alan Rickman (1946-2016)

I can’t wait to change the world someday.

 

One comment

  1. Anne Bryant · February 9, 2016

    How exciting! I plan to read each of your articles. Did you know that the CA Band director lives in our apt.? Small world! Love you, Aunt Anne

    Like

Leave a Reply

